Movies

Baby Driver | Movie Review

Synopsis

After being coerced into working for a crime boss, a young getaway driver finds himself taking part in a heist doomed to fail.

Thoughts

I had high hopes regarding this film since it has gotten a lot of positive reviews in Rotten Tomatoes and IMDB.

It started with Ansel Elgort (playing the Baby Driver) along with some bad looking guys and a woman dressed in a tight clad outfit. Then with a turn of events, it turned out that these people were robbers. Then came police trying to chase them off and the “Baby Driver” just doing his own thing driving the car with those speed drifting stunts without a care in the world while listening to his music loud music.

Honestly, it got me hooked. Well, on the first few minutes I guess.

The movie just failed to establish the characters in such a way that the viewers can somehow connect to them.

Yes, there are a lot of action films lately that drew crowds because of the their fast cars and all that sh*t. I’ve seen a few, and one of those films that truly engaged me as a viewer was the Fast and Furious.

I’m not at all comparing the latter to Baby Driver since it is far different, but it could have at least the components that made the film a very successful franchise.

The movie got some great actors. Man, Kevin Spacey and Jamie Foxx were there. The good-looking and budding actor, Ansel Elgort was there too.

It’s just that a quarter to the movie and I realized that something just felt off.

Okay, so Baby’s background as a child was told in alternating flashbacks from him. Somehow, I understood why he acts like that. However, by the last minutes of the film, it felt like I was watching the possessed version of him.

Doc, in my opinion, has similar disorder with Baby. Though it’s not mentioned in the movie, I feel like he somehow experienced the same thing Baby experienced that’s why he tried to help him in the end.

I think the only scene that pulled my heartstrings in the movie was when Baby left his foster dad in a home care and recorded all the things his father would need and want.

Aside from those, nothing. Nada. I wouldn’t say the movie was worthless, but it was close to that. It has a nice soundtrack, yeah. But the story sucked bigtime. The characters, as I’ve said weren’t fully developed. I can’t put the blame on the characters alone either. There was just something with the movie that didn’t quite sit with me. I think there was no resolution. I don’t think there was a climax either.

So when my friend ask me how I thought of the movie, I said “It’s okay.” But if you ask me, was it worth the penny I paid? No. Will I watch it again? Probably not.

I’m quite wondering how it got a score like that on IMDB and Rotten Tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

