No beauty in England could outshine Elizabeth Cameron, Countess of Havenhurst. But beneath her exquisite emerald eyes and cloud of golden hair, lived a girl of rare gentleness, good humour, and a splendid, even ferocious courage. In Ian Thornton’s powerful embrace, Elizabeth felt the first stirrings of a passion that blazed through her senses. Yet for Thornton, a dangerously handsome man of secret wealth and mysterious lineage, the voyage to Elizabeth’s heart was fraught with intrigue, scandal, and a venomous jealousy. From the elegant salons of London, to the wild beauty of the Scottish Highlands, their tempestuous, dramatic romance was played out, a romance between two lovers destined for each other, even though they refused to admit it.


Of the three books, this is the most tragic. Not because it has the most heart-wrenching  story but because the couple had both undergone the most unfortunate events among the three pairs.

I guess the effect this book gave me is not as strong as the first two books.

I didn’t like Elizabeth’s character at first. She’s so indecisive and she doesn’t know what she wants. Maybe I was just used with how the female characters were brought up in the first two books. But her character matured as her level of living in the society drastically change.

I like Ian Thornton. I’m a sucker for bad-guys-turned-good-guys type of stories. I don’t know why but I really have a thing for bad boys. I find it appealing and I don’t know why.

I like how they included Alexandra and Jordan Townsend in the book. That added spice to the story. And of the dowager duchess. She’s really a character.

I don’t like how Elizabeth eloped with his brother. That is just so absurd. As a wife, it is her duty to be loyal to her husband. Before doing anything she might regret later, she must have consulted her husband first. She should be able to trust him.

A certain Clayton Westmoreland was mentioned in this book. I guess I’m going to include it in my to-read list. His story is a part of the Westmoreland Series. If I’m not mistaken, the title is Whitney, My Love. It is the second book in Westmoreland Series.

Rating: 4/5


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s